PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment

Publications Home

Understanding Parliament



Federal Government Finances: Questions and Answers

What is gross domestic product (GDP)? What is the difference between real GDP and nominal GDP? How is the inflation rate calculated? What accounts does the federal government use for such transactions as paying Employment Insurance benefits and collecting sales and income tax? What are the federal government’s total revenues and expenditures? What are the principal sources of its revenues and expenditures? What happens when the government has a budgetary deficit or surplus? What is the difference between gross debt and net debt, and between financial and non-financial assets? How does cash-based accounting differ from accrual accounting?
You can find the responses to these and similar questions in a new Library of Parliament publication. It contains over 20 of these types of questions with clear and concise answers accompanied by tables and interactive graphics.

Transition to the 42nd Parliament: Questions and Answers

Transition to the 42nd Parliament: Questions and Answers addresses common issues associated with the start of a new parliament. Topics such as the impact of dissolution, government types (majority, minority, coalition) and government formation are discussed, as well as the impact of a new House of Commons on the Senate. As well, the roles of key individuals, including the Governor General and the Prime Minister, are presented in relation to the start of a new Parliament.

The Legislative Process: From Government Policy to Proclamation

Every policy initiative begins as an idea, and if successful, transforms from a formal legislative proposal (a bill) into a law. Before becoming law, a bill must pass through a series of specific steps – known collectively as the legislative process. This publication describes the four main stages of the legislative process for government legislation – the Cabinet stage, the parliamentary stage, the Royal Assent stage and the coming into force stage – and the various settings and players involved in each stage.

The Parliamentary Financial Cycle

One of Parliament’s fundamental roles is to review the government’s taxation and spending plans. In fact, the government cannot change taxation rates, impose new taxes or spend public funds without Parliament’s approval. The Parliamentary Financial Cycle provides a broad overview of the Canadian parliamentary financial cycle – notably the budget, the estimates and the public accounts – in order to assist parliamentarians in their consideration of the government’s taxation and spending plans.

Appointment of Officers of Parliament

This publication explains the appointment process and role of the eight officers of Parliament who perform independent oversight functions and report directly to Parliament: the Auditor General, the Chief Electoral Officer, the Commissioner of Official Languages, the Information Commissioner, the Privacy Commissioner, the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, the Commissioner of Lobbying, and the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner.




© Library of Parliament 2015

[ Top of Page ]

PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois

Publications – Page d’accueil

Comprendre le Parlement


Les finances publiques fédérales : Questions et réponses

Qu’est-ce que le produit intérieur brut (PIB)? Quelle est la différence entre le PIB réel et le PIB nominal? Comment calcule-t-on le taux d’inflation? De quels comptes le gouvernement fédéral se sert-il pour effectuer des transactions telles que le paiement des prestations d’assurance-emploi ou le prélèvement des taxes et impôts? Quelle est l’ampleur des recettes et des dépenses du gouvernement fédéral? Quelles en sont les principales sources? Que se passe-t-il lorsque le gouvernement se retrouve en déficit ou en surplus budgétaires? Quelle est la différence entre dette brute et dette nette, et entre actifs financiers et non financiers? Qu’est-ce qui différencie la comptabilité de caisse de la comptabilité d’exercice?
Si ces questions vous intéressent ou si vous cherchez les réponses, la Bibliothèque du Parlement vous propose une nouvelle publication qui contient une vingtaine de questions de ce genre avec des réponses présentées de façon brève et concise et accompagnées de tableaux et de graphiques interactifs.

Le passage à la 42e législature : Questions et réponses

Le passage à la 42e législature : Questions et réponses aborde des questions qui se posent au début d’une législature. Ces questions comprennent, à titre d’exemples, la dissolution du Parlement, les types de gouvernement (majoritaire, minoritaire, coalition) et la formation d’un gouvernement, ainsi que l’incidence d’une nouvelle Chambre des communes sur le Sénat. Certaines fonctions importantes, notamment celles du gouverneur général et du premier ministre, sont analysées dans le cadre du début d’une législature.

Le processus législatif : de la politique gouvernementale à la promulgation

Chaque initiative politique naît d’une idée qui, si elle est fructueuse, est présentée sous forme de proposition législative officielle (projet de loi) avant de devenir loi. Pour être adopté, un projet de loi doit franchir une série d’étapes bien précises – qui constituent ensemble ce qu’on appelle le « processus législatif ». Cette publication décrit les quatre principales étapes du processus législatif que franchissent les projets de loi d’initiative ministérielle – l’étape du Cabinet, l’étape du Parlement, l’étape de la sanction royale et l’étape de l’entrée en vigueur – ainsi que les divers contextes et acteurs qui interviennent à chaque étape.

Le cycle financier parlementaire

L’un des rôles fondamentaux du Parlement consiste à examiner et à approuver les plans d’imposition et de dépenses du gouvernement. Le gouvernement ne peut modifier les taux d’imposition, créer de nouveaux impôts ou engager des deniers publics sans l’approbation du Parlement. Le cycle financier parlementaire donne un vaste aperçu du cycle financier parlementaire canadien, notamment du budget, du budget des dépenses et des comptes publics, afin d’aider les parlementaires dans leur étude des plans de dépenses et d’imposition du gouvernement.

Nomination des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement

Cette publication décrit le processus de nomination et le rôle des huit agents du Parlement qui exercent des fonctions de surveillance et relèvent directement du Parlement : le vérificateur général, le directeur général des élections, le commissaire aux langues officielles, le commissaire à l’information, le commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, le commissaire aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique, le commissaire au lobbying et le commissaire à l’intégrité du secteur public.




© Bibliothèque du Parlement 2015

[ Haut de la page ]